Important Updates


Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

The settlement was approved by both the Ontario and Quebec courts. However, the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has recently caused court closures and the suspension of procedural time periods in Quebec. As a result, the 30 day period to appeal the Quebec settlement approval order has been suspended until further notice.

Claim reviews and payments of eligible claims will not begin until after procedural timelines have passed.

Given the fluidity of the coronavirus pandemic, we are closely monitoring developments. However, subject to government direction, we do not anticipate any additional disruptions regarding this class action at this time.

While our call centre remains fully operational, recent surges in land line and cellular phone services by Canadians is saturating national service providers’ networks and may cause disruption to call centre services, resulting in longer queue times. As an alternative you may wish to contact our office by email.

Please continue to monitor this website for additional updates.

On December 5, 2014, a class action was initiated in the Superior Court of Quebec (the "Quebec Court" and, with the Ontario Court, the "Courts") on behalf of all persons and organizations in Canada who purchased and/or leased a Subject Vehicle - E. Vitoratos and A. Frey v. Takata Corp. et. al., Court File No.: 500-06-000723-144 (the "Quebec Action").

On June 1, 2015, an action was commenced in Saskatchewan, styled Dale Hall v. Takata Corporation et al., Court File QBG.1284 of 2015. On January 20, 2016 an action was initiated in the Supreme Court of British Columbia, styled Reena Rai v. Takata Corporation et al., Vancouver Registry No. S148694 (“Other Actions”).

On October 30, 2018 a class action was initiated in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (the “Ontario Court”) on behalf of all persons, entities or organizations residing in Canada who purchased and/or leased a Subject Vehicle – Arlene Stevenson, et. al. v. Mazda Motor Corporation, et. al., Court File No. CV-18-00607848-00CP (the “Ontario Action”). Note that Mazda Motor Corporation and Mazda Canada Inc. were initially named as defendants in D’Haene et. al. v. Takata Corporation et. al., Court File No.: CV-15-22104CP, but this proceeding was discontinued against Mazda Motor Corporation and Mazda Canada Inc. pursuant to the order of Justice Perell, dated November 6, 2018.

The Ontario, Quebec, and Other Actions allege that certain automotive companies, including Mazda, manufactured, distributed, or sold certain vehicles containing allegedly defective Takata airbag inflators manufactured by Defendants Takata Corporation and TK Holdings, Inc. that allegedly could, upon deployment, rupture and expel debris or shrapnel into the occupant compartment and/or otherwise affect the airbag's deployment, and that the plaintiffs sustained economic losses as a result thereof.

Mazda denies that it committed any violations of law, engaged in any unlawful act or conduct, or that there is any basis for liability for any of these allegations.

The Quebec Court authorized the Quebec Action as a class action for settlement purposes only and issued related orders on October 3, 2019. The Ontario Court certified the Ontario Action as a class action and issued related orders, including conforming the dates with the Quebec Court on February 25, 2019 and October 3, 2019. To view the Quebec Court’s order, please click here. To view the Ontario Court’s order, please click here.

Attention


Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Mise à jour

Le règlement a été approuvé par les tribunaux de l’Ontario et du Québec. Cependant, la pandémie de coronavirus (COVID-19) a récemment causé l’arrêt partiel des activités judiciaires et la suspension des délais de procédure civile au Québec. Par conséquent, le délai de 30 jours pour interjeter appel des ordonnances relatives à l’approbation du règlement du Québec a été suspendu jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

L'examen des demandes et le paiement des demandes admissibles ne commenceront qu'une fois le délai d’appel écoulé.

Compte tenu de la propagation de l'épidémie du coronavirus, nous surveillons les plus récents développements. Cependant, sous réserve des directives du gouvernement, nous ne prévoyons aucune autre perturbation concernant cette action collective en ce moment.

Bien que notre centre d'appel demeure opérationnel, les récentes poussées des services de téléphonie fixe et cellulaire des canadiens saturent les réseaux des fournisseurs de services nationaux et peuvent perturber les services des centres d'appels entraînant des délais d'attente plus longs. Alternativement, vous pouvez également contacter nos bureaux par courriel.

Veuillez continuer de consulter ce site web.

Le 7 novembre 2014, un recours collectif a été intenté devant la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario (la « Cour ontarienne ») au nom de toutes les personnes, entités ou organisations résidant au Canada qui ont acheté et/ou loué un Véhicule automobile en cause – John M. Mcintosh v. Takata Corporation et al., No. de dossier de la Cour : CV-16-543833-00CP (l’« Action ontarienne »).

Le 5 décembre 2014, une action collective a été intentée devant la Cour supérieure du Québec (la « Cour québécoise » et, avec la Cour ontarienne, les « Tribunaux ») au nom de toutes les personnes et organisations au Canada qui ont acheté et/ou loué un Véhicule automobile en cause – E. Vitoratos and A. Frey c. Takata Corp. et. al., No. de dossier de la Cour : 500-06-000723-144 (l’« Action québécoise »).

Une action a également été intentée le 1er juin 2015 en Saskatchewan, sous le titre Dale Hall v. Takata Corporation et al., No. de dossier de la Cour : QBG.1284 of 2015 (l’« Autre action »).

L’Action ontarienne, l’Action québécoise et l’Autre action allèguent que certaines compagnies automobiles, dont Mazda, ont fabriqué, distribué ou vendu certains véhicules contenant des dispositifs de gonflage de coussins gonflables Takata fabriqués par les défenderesses Takata Corporation et TK Holdings, Inc. qui pourraient, lors du déploiement, se rompre et projeter des débris ou éclats dans l’habitacle ou autrement affecter le déploiement du coussin gonflable, et que les demandeurs ont subi des dommages de nature économique en raison de cela.

Mazda nie avoir commis des infractions à la loi, s’être livrée à des actes ou à des comportements illégaux, ou qu’il existe un fondement à sa responsabilité quant à l’une ou l’autre de ces allégations.

La Cour québécoise a autorisé l’Action québécoise à titre de recours collectif uniquement à des fins de règlement et a rendu des ordonnances connexes le 3 octobre 2019. La Cour ontarienne a certifié l’Action ontarienne comme un recours collectif et a rendu des ordonnances connexes, notamment en indiquant les dates à la Cour québécoise les 25 février et 3 octobre 2019. Pour voir l’ordonnance de la Cour québécoise, veuillez cliquer ici. Pour voir l’ordonnance de la Cour ontarienne, veuillez cliquer ici.